Florida's No-Fault Car Insurance Laws
In general, most people know that it is illegal to drive in the States without a license or proper car insurance. However, do you know what car insurance actually entails? Do you know what precise coverage is acceptable in each state? Did you know that requirements differed in different areas? If you did not, do not worry! We are here to inform you.
In Florida, drivers operating four-wheeled vehicles must carry no-fault car insurance. It is one of 12 states that requires this specific form of insurance. With no-fault, the auto insurance company pays for personal injury protection (PIP). In the event of a car crash, their companies, regardless of who is at fault, cover both drivers for injuries.
No-fault insurance covers:
- Bodily injury
- Medical bills and loss of wages (to a certain extent)
- Other losses
Under Florida law, all drivers must be insured for:
- At least $10,000 in personal injury protection
- At least $10,000 in property damage liability
This rule ultimately means that, no matter who is at fault, you will still need to report your accident to your own auto insurance company. However, under Florida’s “injury threshold,” those who have been permanently injured can pursue a claim against the driver “at-fault.”
Although all Florida drivers must have no-fault insurance, they are not required to have bodily injury liability (BIL). Drivers are also not required to obtain uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage. Hopefully, people do not drive without insurance because it is illegal.
At The Pittman Firm, P.A., we understand how traumatic car accidents can be. It is important to know your rights in these situations. Our Florida auto accident attorneys have successful experience representing numerous clients in personal injury claims. Allow us to use our extensive knowledge of insurance laws and claims to help you. Contact us today for your free consultation.