Some Florida Laws It's Useful to Know
Sometimes, it's helpful to learn a few points of law that apply to common situations. For example, what is the age of majority in Florida, and is it the same age as the drinking age? No, they aren't the same. Majority occurs at age 18, but the legal drinking age is still 21. Driving while intoxicated under the law is age-related, too. At a blood alcohol level of 0.08, a person is presumed to be DUI unless the person is under 21. Then, only a blood alcohol level of 0.02 is required to meet the presumption of intoxication.
Statutes of limitations vary wildly depending on the type of case, so the safest thing to do is to consider that the statute applying to your case might run this week. In other words, find out as soon as you can from a lawyer when your case will be forever barred from court, and take action while you can. Medical malpractice statutes of limitations are particularly difficult to figure out. The time for taking legal action in the ways provided by law is two years from when the malpractice occurred, but under certain circumstances it can be longer, up to 4 years if the malpractice wasn't discovered and maybe even longer if fraud or concealment of facts occurred.
For most other types of negligence cases, the statute of limitations is 4 years, except when it isn't. That can occur, in effect, when a governmental agency or subdivision was negligent and caused the injury. Then, a notice of claim has to be delivered to the agency in a very specific way within three years. It's complex, so as I said, get help fast after an injury so that you aren't caught short by a statute of limitations.
Time limits apply in other kinds of situations, too. For example, to begin a divorce in Florida, a person must have been a resident of the state for at least six months. Finally, cell phone use while driving is a bad idea, but even so, it's arguably legal to text while stopped at a red light.